Manage Workgroups

Use the Workgroup Admin Console (WAC) to manage workgroups.

Workgroup administrators can add or remove workgroup users. Enterprise domain administrators can create workgroups and assign workgroup administrators.


Create Workgroups and Assign Administrators

With an Enterprise subscription, the domain administrator can create multiple workgroups and assign 1 workgroup administrator to each group.

  1. Click the Account drop-down arrow, and select Settings.
  2. On the Settings page, select Manage Workgroups.
    The Workgroup Admin Console (WAC) opens.
  3. From the Dashboard tab, click the New icon.
  4. In the Create workgroup dialog box, enter the workgroup information.
    1. Enter a unique workgroup name in the Name field.
    2. Enter a description of the workgroup in the Description field.
    3. Enter the email for the person you want to be the workgroup administrator in the Administrator E-mail field.
    4. [Optional] If you are setting up a workgroup in an Enterprise domain and want to include users outside your domain (for example, a core lab), select the Enable collaborators outside of this domain checkbox.
  5. Click Create.

NOTE

Users in your workgroup may incur costs related to data storage, compute, and analysis. To share project and run data only, use the Get Link or Share options.


View Workgroup Details

  1. Click the Account drop-down arrow, and select Settings.
  2. If you are managing workgroups in an Enterprise domain, use the following steps to select a workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, select Manage Workgroups.
      The Workgroup Admin Console (WAC) opens.
    2. Select a workgroup.
  3. If you are managing a Professional subscription workgroup, use the following steps to select a workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, click the Workgroup drop-down arrow and then select the workgroup.
    2. Select Overview.
    3. Select Manage Workgroup.
      The Workgroup Admin Console (WAC) opens.
  4. In the Workgroup page, click Users to view a list of workgroup members.
  5. Click a user name to view their workgroup affiliations.

Edit a Workgroup

The workgroup administrator can change the name and description of a workgroup.

  1. Click the Account drop-down arrow, and select Settings.
  2. If you are managing workgroups in an Enterprise domain, use the following steps to select a workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, select Manage Workgroups.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
    2. Select a workgroup.
  3. If you are managing a Professional subscription workgroup, use the following steps to select the workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, click the Workgroup drop-down arrow and then select the workgroup.
    2. In the Workgroup page, click Overview.
    3. In the Overview section, click Change Settings.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
  4. In the Change Workgroup Settings dialog box, change the following:
    • Enter the new Name of the workgroup.
    • Enter a new Description for the workgroup.
  5. Click Save.

Add Users to a Workgroup

The workgroup administrator adds users to a workgroup. A workgroup can contain an unlimited number of users.

  1. Click the Account drop-down arrow, and select Settings.
  2. If you are managing workgroups in an Enterprise domain, use the following steps to select a workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, select Manage Workgroups.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
    2. Select a workgroup.
  3. If you are managing a Professional subscription workgroup, use the following steps to select the workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, click the Workgroup drop-down arrow and then select the workgroup.
    2. In the Workgroup page, click Overview.
    3. In the Overview section, click Change Settings.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
  4. In the Workgroup page, click Users.
  5. In the Users page, click Invite.
  6. In the Invite new user dialog box, enter the email address for the user you want to add, and then click Invite. The invited user receives an email invitation and a dashboard notification. The user is added to the workgroup after accepting the invitation.

Remove Users from a Workgroup

The workgroup administrator removes users from a workgroup. To remove an administrator from a workgroup, remove their administrator access, then remove the user.

  1. Click the Account drop-down arrow, and select Settings.
  2. If you are managing workgroups in an Enterprise domain, use the following steps to select a workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, select Manage Workgroups.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
    2. Select a workgroup.
  3. If you are managing a Professional subscription workgroup, use the following steps to select the workgroup.
    1. On the Settings page, click the Workgroup drop-down arrow and then select the workgroup.
    2. In the Workgroup page, click Overview.
    3. In the Overview section, click Change Settings.
      The Workgroup Admin Console opens.
  4. In the Workgroup page, click Users.
  5. Click Users.
  6. Select the checkbox for each user you want to remove.
  7. Click Remove.
GitHub

Contribute to this article

Want to edit or suggest changes to this content? You can do so using GitHub.